• Where to find me

    I will be competing in the DEED OF ARMS at the 2017 DAYS OF KNIGHTS in Oak Grove, Kentucky, 6-8 October.
  • Where to find me

    I will be discussing THE SECOND GREAT MORTALITY on the October 2016 episode of CHIVALRY TODAY podcast.
  • Where to find me

    On Sunday, July 22, from 4-6pm, I will be signing copies of THE SECOND GREAT MORTALITY at the Collingsworth County Museum in Wellington, Texas.
  • Where to find me

    On Sunday, June 26, from 2-4PM I will be signing copies of THE SECOND GREAT MORTALITY at the Schaumburg Half Price Books in Woodfield Commons West.
  • Where to find me

    On Sunday, June 12, from 2-4pm, I will be signing copies of THE SECOND GREAT MORTALITY at the Lewisville Half Price Books west of Vista Ridge Mall.
  • Where to find me

    I will be competing in the skill-at-arms events at the Tournament of the Phoenix 16-18 October.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6

Latest NewsThe Second Great Mortality

I recently completed my first full-length novel, THE SECOND GREAT MORTALITY. It is an intriguing blend of historical fiction, adventure and horror that should appeal to fans of Bernard Cornwell’s Winter King and AMC’s The Walking Dead.

1436. Sir Richard de Colleville and his hunting party are viciously attacked by a stranger bearing the unmistakable signs of Plague. Fear gives way to unspeakable horror once the true nature of this Pestilence is revealed.

Read More

I'm a weekend novelist, backyard daredevil, and lifelong medieval history enthusiast. I enjoy the knightly pursuits of jousting, hunting, & sword fighting.

#author #medieval#zombies

@lonniecolson

Follow Me

  • YouTube Interview

    The host of Pursuing the Knightly Arts asked a few questions then chased me with an axe.
    Last month I joined scores of other medieval re-enactors at the Oak Grove War Memorial Walking Trail, site of this year's The Days of Knights event. The mile-long trail weaves in and around a wooded park that serves as a frisbee golf course. The encampment was laid out chronologically along the trail like a visual timeline of European history from the Vikings to the early Renaissance.

    "So, for those of us who enjoy adventures set in the Age of Chivalry, why not reach for a story that combines a zombie aThe Days of Knights was my first opportunity to meet a number of well-known personalities from Facebook and YouTube. Among them were Ian LaSpina of Knyght Errant, Tom Biliter of Historically Patterned Mail, and Reece Nelson, the host of Pursuing the Knightly Arts YouTube channel. I even had a chance to exchange a few friendly blows with Reece and Tom.


    Read More
  • Recent Interview

    I sat down in October with the host of the Chivalry Today podcast.
    "From the drama The Walking Dead to the peppy teen comedy iZombie to the literary parody Pride And Prejudice And Zombies, the zombie apocalypse concept has become such a popular trope in today’s world that it is spilling over into just about every genre of entertainment. This year you can bet there will plenty of ghouls and zombies out on the Halloween trick or treat circuit, and the holiday is a perfect excuse to enjoy your favorite novel featuring the dead rising from their graves to feast on the brains and flesh of the living, to provide some spine-tingling seasonal chills.

    "So, for those of us who enjoy adventures set in the Age of Chivalry, why not reach for a story that combines a zombie apocalypse with brave medieval knights in armor? Why not? Because there aren’t too many such stories around – until recently, that is.

    "Now, everyone who think that zombies and knights are two great things that can only be better together, can enjoy a tale of the medieval living dead in the new book The Second Great Mortality, ..."

    Read More
  • New Armour

    I recently commissioned a new harness from Jeffrey Hedgecock of Historic Enterprises in Ramona, California.
    I wanted to be as historically accurate as possible without having to pawn all of the wife’s heirlooms. I also hoped to find a complete harness rather than a composite one that had been assembled from multiple decades. I chose the harness once owned by Friedrich I, Kurfürst von der Pfalz, often referred to as Frederick the Victorious. Born in 1425 at Heidelberg, he was the son of Louis III, Elector Palatine.
    Friedrich’s armour was made for him by Tomasso Missaglia around the year 1450. I decided to forego the great bascinet that Friedrich wore and instead opted for an armet with reinforcing plate for jousting and perforated visor for the mêlée. I chose the example in Zurich (LM 16807) also made by the Missaglia workshop during the same 1450-1455 timeframe. Finally, I decided to have symmetrical couters (elbows) akin to the composite (BHM SBZ102) currently in the Historisches Museum, Bern, Switzerland. They, too, were made in the Missaglia workshop around 1455.
    Read More
  • Searching for Milton Colson

    I am seeking help in uncovering more information on a distant relative: MILTON K. COLSON.
    There have been Colsons living in the Americas since the early 17th century. I have found Colson congressmen, Colson mayors, Colson pioneers and even Colson Revolutionary and Civil War heroes. Considering the comparative infrequency of the surname, I feel it is safe to say that my forebears who claimed to hail from the same areas must have familial ties. Proving the direct connection has always been the challenge of genealogy. So often there is one important missing link that makes it impossible to continue back with any certainty. For me, that enigmatic ancestor is MILTON K. COLSON..
    I have spent quite a bit of time studying every reference I can find of Milton Colson, but have never been able to verify with any degree of certainty who his father is. I know that there are millions of people out there similarly scouring the Web for evidence of their pasts as well. It is my hope that someone will stumble across this article and help me connect the dots, and maybe along the way I might be able to aid in their discoveries as well.
    Read More
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4